Our children awaiting adoption

Freddie’s story

Hello my name is Freddie and I am five years old. I’m a friendly little boy who has the brightest and most cheerful face when I smile at you.

My social worker says that I’m "just delightful to be around”!

I love looking at books and exploring my toys and sensory objects which sing and make lights and sounds. I am an inquisitive child and I like building blocks and puzzles, playing trains and shops, as well as being outdoors. I love strawberry jam sandwiches and copying yoga from a children’s TV programme. I have a fantastic memory.

My social worker says I am full of life, and that I am an extremely pleasant little boy, with great sense of humour. My foster carer says I love positive attention and I am a happy-go-lucky type of child, who has done remarkably well. My social worker says I have a lot of potential for my future.

I am growing in curiosity so although I making great progress since being in foster care I am developmentally behind in some areas. I am interested in learning new things and can count from one to ten forwards and backwards. I love stories being read to me and imaginative playing with the other child in my placement.

I try hard to increase my self-care skills and will attempt to do things myself such as brush my teeth and take my shoes and socks off. I am in a good day and night routine. I am becoming stronger in my walking, gross motor skills and fine motor development as my skills are not quite age appropriate yet. I have improved greatly in my language skills, although not quite as expected. I like interacting with others and I am able to show when I need a cuddle from my carer or if I am wary when in a new environment. I have a loveable mischievous streak in my personality.

I was born slightly premature and had to remain in hospital for an operation as a new-born to close a gap in my spine. My birth mother did not engage with antenatal services and it is unknown if she used drugs in my pregnancy.

I have a number of developmental delays and medical needs which are all managed effectively by my carers who have gained the skills to support me in the home environment. Overall I am making ‘leaps and bounds’ in my progress given I have some additional needs. I have a number of procedures that need to be carried out daily and my foster carers have become adept at doing these as part of their daily routine. 

I attend a specialist nursery five days per week. I enjoy this and interact well with the other children although I am not sure about having school dinners at the moment so I have a packed lunch!

I have developed a warm positive relationship with my foster carers and I respond well to praise. I have experienced periods of neglect and chaos in the past. This means that my basic and special needs were probabaly unmet during this time. As a result my emotional, physical and behavioural wellbeing will need some nurturing in the future. I do have additional developmental and medical needs so I will need adoptive parents who are willing to accept uncertainty and can manage these. I will require therapeutic, sensitive and engaging hands-on care. I will need to be the youngest or only child in our family.

I have a lot to offer the right family and a lot of potential to fufil. Any family that cares for me is going to be very lucky!

I hope to be helped to reach my potential and be cherished.


Talk to us

If you would like to find out more about adopting with us, call us on 0121 303 7575.

Request a call back